WVU Band Logo Full

2009 End-of-the-Season Awards

The WVU Marching Band has been extremely fortunate to have had many quality students pass through its ranks. Every year the WVU Marching Band recognizes those people at their annual end-of-season banquet. These awards recognize those individuals who show outstanding dedication throughout the Marching Season.

The students below were recognized for the following awards at the 2009 "Pride of West Virginia" banquet, which was held on December 6th at the WVU Mountainlair. Congratulations to these outstanding students!

24279a0010_rankThe James C. Dunbar, III Memorial Outstanding Rank Leader Award, sponsored by Kappa Kappa Psi, is presented in memory of our dear friend and fellow band member Jim Dunbar who was taken from us this past summer. In order to make sure to honor Jim???s memory each year, this new award will be a fitting tribute to him. Jim was a dedicated band member and a great friend to all who knew him. He was a trumpet player who served as an assistant rank leader and he was a member of the pep band for many years as well as the marching band.

This award will be presented to the person who the staff feels has been the most effective leader of his or her rank for the season by displaying a great attitude, setting a positive example, effectively teaching and communicating with their rank, and just being an outstanding Rank Leader. This year's Outstanding Rank Leader is Sandy Bruce.

24279a0017_docThe Dr. Frank 'Doc' Stevens Memorial Scholarship Senior Scholarship is awarded annually to an outstanding 4-year senior who has shown exemplarily dedication, enthusiasm, leadership, and service to "The Pride of West Virginia". In 2004, the "Pride of West Virginia" lost one of it's dearest friends; our announcer, Dr. Frank Stevens. For 44 years, Doc Stevens defined outstanding dedication and service to the Mountaineer Marching Band. This scholarship assures that we will always remember his contributions to the WVU Marching Band. This year's recipient is Terry Jackson.

24279a0015_freshman The Andrea Smith Memorial Scholarship, in memory of former band member Andrea Smith, is awarded annually to a first semester freshmen??of the marching band. The freshmen scholarship is based on exemplary effort, attitude, and overall spirit to the marching band. This year's recipient is Katie Demyan.

24279a0012_senior The Outstanding Senior Band Member Award is voted on by the band members themselves near the end of the season. This award recognizes the 4-year senior who the band feels best exemplifies what a band member should be and who the band feels has been an enthusiastic and dedicated example to not only other band members, but to the public as well. The number of seniors receiving many votes each year is a reflection of how the band perceives those members to be critical in carrying the Pride and traditions of the band forward each year. Drum Majors and Twirlers, because of the high-profiles of their positions and recognition they receive throughout the entire season, are not eligible for this award. This year's Outstanding Senior Band Member is Evan Boegehold.

24279a0011_section The Outstanding Section Leader award is voted on by the senior members of the band staff each year and is indicative of the person whom the staff feels has been the most outstanding of all of the section leaders in the band for that year. Frequently a very difficult decision, our Section Leaders and Assistant Section Leaders work very hard to help make sure the band sounds good at every performance. They do warm ups, help teach individual playing technique, work on section songs, help to detail music, and also hep to organize our many mini bands we have to put together during the season.

In score order, the eligible sections are: Piccolo, Clarinet, Saxophone, Trumpet, Mellophone, Trombone, Baritone, Tuba, Percussion, and Color Guard. Drum Majors and Twirlers, because of the high-profiles of their positions and recognition they receive throughout the entire season, are not eligible for this award. This year's Outstanding Section Leader is Ryan Mould.

24279a0019_kkyThe Omicron Alumni Association of Kappa Kappa Psi is the local association for alumni, life, and honorary brothers of the Omicron Chapter here at West Virginia University. While our membership consists of individuals in many walks of life living around the world, we continue to support the active brotherhood of the Omicron Chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi and the bands at West Virginia University. We take great pride in the continued excellence of the university's band programs, including the WVU Marching Band, and we applaud the Omicron Chapter for its continued national recognition as one of the top chapters of Kappa Kappa Psi in light of its outstanding service to these band programs. Tonight, we award for the first time the Omicron Alumni Association Brotherhood Scholarship, an award provided to an active Omicron Brother who has strived for the highest in his or her service to the bands, the fraternity, and the fraternity's five purposes. The first Omicron Alumni Association Brotherhood Scholarship goes to Ryan Mould.

Main Menu